Town Council

The Town of Gibsons is governed by an elected Council comprised of a Mayor and four Councillors. Councillors are elected for four-year terms and each member represents the Town at large.

In British Columbia, the Community Charter and the Local Government Act give the elected Council the authority to establish policies to guide the growth, development and operation of the Town, set budgets and levy taxes to provide services. Council delegates administrative responsibility to the Chief Administrative Officer who oversees the Town operations.


The Town responds to many service requests, complaints and inquiries from the public daily. Most are resolved satisfactorily by the appropriate Town staff.

Citizens should be aware that all written and email correspondence addressed to Mayor and Council become public documents once received by the Town.

TEL: 604-886-2274

Write to:
Mayor and Council,
PO Box 340
Gibsons, BC V0N 1V0